Friday, August 27, 2010

The "howdoyou.com" spam

Avaya Partner ACSImage by pvera via FlickrEarlier today our domain name wholesaler sent out an email as if it was sent from us, inviting you to participate in a contest. This email was sent out less than an hour after we were told about it, which is completely inadequate in terms of advance notice so we could opt out our customers. Needless to say, I have protested this action in the strongest terms.
I believe that the mass mailings functionality in the domain control panels are a useful means to disseminate information that is relevant to you, our customers, like for example to let you know that we switched phones, that there is a price increase coming or that somebody is sending out scam renewal letters through snail mail. Sending out this kind of third party invite was and is completely unacceptable.

1 comment:

  1. I'm pissed. It appears to affect all LogicBoxes registrars and resellers with the spam emails appearing to originate from the reseller. The affiliate ID in the spam is the same as the affiliate ID in this ResellerClub blog post: http://blog.resellerclub.com/2010/08/19/win-up-to-10000-with-howdoyou-com/

    ReplyDelete